Pensive

Oil on canvas   9 x 12 ins  22.5 x 30 cm

As well as life drawing I’ve been doing some figure painting and I plan to post some of them here so I can see more objectively what progress I’m making.

This one is probably my first ‘finished’ oil painting of a nude figure and is at least a year old, maybe two! It’s not as loose as I wanted but I was pleased with the mood and composition. And it was a pretty good likeness.

I’ve been experiencing the magic of placing paint on a 2-D surface to create the sense of a 3-D figure and am increasingly curious about figurative painting and how to develop skills in this area.

About xdbx

Life drawing, painting and exploring direct path nonduality
This entry was posted in Figure, Nude, Oil, Paint, Painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pensive

  1. Emma George says:

    just lovely Dee, good to see a painting as well as the drawings. I love the subtle tone and colours here xx

  2. xdbx says:

    Thanks Emma
    Those neutrals still do it for me too!
    xdbx

  3. Crispin Gair says:

    more please…

Leave a Reply

